Log inLog Out
For YouPoliticsEntertainmentRelationshipLifestyleSportsTechnology
Breaking: INEC declares Governor Ishaku winner of Taraba governorship election
Kess Ewubare|March. 12, 2019
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the incumbent governor of Taraba state and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Darius Ishaku, as the winner of the Taraba state governorship election.
Premium Times reports that the INEC returning officer, Shehu Iya, made the announcement around 3.50am on Tuesday morning, March 12, at the INEC office in Jalingo, the state capital.
The official stated that Governor Ishiaku scored a total of 520, 433 votes to defeat his closest contender, Sani Danladi, from the All Progressives Congress (APC) who recorded 362, 735 votes across the 16 local government areas of the state.
INEC announced the Taraba governorship election after the electoral commission earlier postponed the announcement of the final result following reported delay of the result in some local government areas in the state.
In another report, the Adamawa chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has rejected the result of Saturday, March 9, governorship election in some local government areas in the state.
Mustafa Salihu, the APC national vice chairman, north east, announced the rejection on Monday in Yola on March 11, The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Salihu, who was the state collation officer of the presidential and governorship elections, alleged that the governorship election that was declared inconclusive by INEC was full of irregularities.
He listed the areas where he alleged the irregularities took place to include Demsa, Lamurde, Numan ,Guyuk, Michika and Madagali local government areas.
Sign in to post a message
You're the first to comment.
Say something
Log in