Log inLog Out
For YouNewsEntertainmentRelationshipLifestyleSportTechnology
Turkey, Poland added to UK coronavirus quarantine list

Akinbiyi Akeem

Oct. 01, 2020

The UK government on Thursday announced that Turkey and Poland had been added to its coronavirus quarantine list.
This means meaning travellers from both countries will have to self-isolate for two weeks.
The order takes effect on Saturday, October 3 from 4am.
In addition to those two countries, the Caribbean islands of Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba were also added to the list.
Poland's seven-day rate of new coronavirus cases increased from 15.6 to 25.9 while that of the Caribbean islands remained unchanged at 142.4 new cases per 100,000.
Turkey, however, registered a drop from 14.2 to 12.9 new cases per 100,000. Despite that, it was added following a revelation that it had been recording new cases in a different way to the definition used by a number of international organisations.
Moreover, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced that there will be stiffer penalties for people who refuse to self-quarantine.
The penalty has been increased to a maximum of £10,000 (nearly$13,000) for repeat offenders.
Isolating will now be a legal obligation for any individual told to do so, from this week.
(With input from agencies)
Sign in to post a message
You're the first to comment.
Say something
Log in