Log inLog Out
Nigeria is reportedly one of the seven countries Trump wants to ban from the United States

Gregory sikanwe

Jan. 22, 2020

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Malam Garba Shehu, stated this in a statement in Abuja on Wednesday, January 22, 2020.
Pulse had earlier reported that seven countries are on Trump’s travel ban list . The countries are — Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.
The Wall Street Journal reports that countries will face bans only on some visa categories.
However, the presidential aide, who said he had heard the news dismissed it as speculation.
He said, “Yes, we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media.
”We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications, and its consequences before we react.”
This is not the first time Trump would come up with a travel ban policy for countries especially those in the third world category.
On January 27, 2017, barely a week into his tenure, Trump signed the original travel ban order which initially denied visas to citizens of seven majority-Muslim countries. This list was later modified after a series of legal challenges.
Sign in to post a message
You're the first to comment.
Say something
Log in