Log inLog Out
Local NewsEntertainmentRelationshipLifestyleTechnology
INEC Chair Swears In 2 RECs As Commission Announces Readiness To Conduct Re-Run In 11 States On Saturday


Jan. 21, 2020

Professor Mahmood Yakubu, Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Commission’s readiness to conduct court-ordered rerun elections in 28 constituencies across 11 states of the country.
He made the disclosure as he swore into office two newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs), Dr Alalibo Sinikiem Johnson, from Bayelsa State and Umar Mukhtar Gajiram from Borno State, who were respectively deployed to Cross River and Borno States.
The INEC Chairman disclosed further that all sensitive and non-sensitive materials have been deployed to the States, while other arrangements including stakeholders’ meetings, security arrangements, training and posting of ad-hoc staff as well as the configuration of Smart Card Readers are ongoing.
He added that the commission has received “assurances from the security agencies of adequate protection of the processes in line with the rules of engagement for election duty”.
While urging the new RECs to be firm.in the discharge of their responsibilities, he said their assignment encompasses implementation of the Commission’s policies, including supervisory control over personnel, resources as well the legal and administrative processes of INEC in the State of.assignment
Sign in to post a message
You're the first to comment.
Say something
Log in