Log inLog Out
Local NewsEntertainmentRelationshipLifestyleTechnology
Nigeria vs Sierra Leone: Rohr invites 24 players for AFCON qualifying double-header [Full list]

Sunday Joseph

Oct. 29, 2020

The head coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, has released a list of 24 players, ahead of next month’s 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double-header against Sierra Leone.
The usual suspects like captain Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi, Samuel Chukwueze, Leon Balogun and William Troost-Ekong make the cut.
Nigeria’s top scorer in the series, Victor Osimhen, returns after missing out of this month’s friendlies against Algeria and Tunisia, along with midfielder Joe Aribo and goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.
Switzerland–based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe will hope to earn his first cap for Nigeria, while defenders Kevin Akpoguma and Zaidu Sanusi, who impressed in the friendlies in Austria, have been handed opportunities to add to their caps.
There are seven players on standby, including defender Abdullahi Shehu, goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, midfielders Ramon Azeez and Samson Tijani, and forward Paul Onuachu.
The Super Eagles host the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on November 13, before flying to Freetown for the return game on November 17 at the Siaka Stevens Stadium.
Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany)
NEWS: Arsenal vs Dundalk: Four key Gunners players to miss Europa League clash
Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)
Standby: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium).
Nigeria vs Sierra Leone: Rohr confirms venue of match, date to begin camping Nigeria vs Tunisia: Why it will be difficult to pick list for AFCON qualifiers – Rohr Nigeria vs Tunisia: Super Eagles held to 1-1 draw Nigeria vs Algeria: Livescore from Super Eagles friendly in Austria Nigeria vs Algeria: Why revenge mission could be costly for Super Eagles Nigeria vs Tunisia: Livescore from Super Eagles friendly in Austria
Sign in to post a message
You're the first to comment.
Say something
Log in